The non-squashed original commits are available at 243bd3a56:
* First, quick and dirty version
* Basic HTML connectivity view
* Codestyle, automatically refresh
* Make it accessible from the settings
* Improve usability
I did some user-testing with my family, these are the results:
- Added an emoji to the html page (red dot for not connected, and so on)
- Adapted error messages for SMTP:
"Not started" -> "(You did not try to send a message recently)"
"🟢 Connected" -> "🟢 Your last message was sent successfully"
- "Not connected" is misleading, because they think that this means that there is no internet connection.
But "Not connected" can have other causes, like, a not responding server or a changed-but-not-updated-in-DC password
Possible solutions:
- "Not connected" -> "Not connected with gmx.de" (or whatever comes after the '@' in configured_addr). The problem: some people have an own domain for their emails, but no own servers. "Not connected with <your domain>" and might make them think that the problem is that DC tries to connect to the server <your domain>, while the server is hosted at Strato.com.
- We can ask the system whether there currently is network and then show another error message. The problem: Sometimes the system is wrong.
* Remove error_network
* Remove server_response string
* Move `getConnectivitySummary()` to `DcHelper`
* Implement the changes we agreed on
* Remove string error_no_network
* small fixes
* Clarify disappearing message hint
I got the user feedback that it's not clear that this setting only applies for this chat/group and is not a global setting like device/server deletion
* incorporate feedback to disappearing messages hint
Co-authored-by: B. Petersen <r10s@b44t.com>
once the sticker is sent together with the quote,
the quote is cleared.
if there is some draft text, however, that is kept as draft.
tickers together with text are discouraged.
we keep using the screenlock for "Backup" and "Manage keys";
these dialog always used the wording of the "global" screenlock,
sth. as "Please Unlock Delta Chat", however, that wording was always wrong
as Delta Chat itself is not locked in these situations.
this pr sets the title to the selected action
and just says "Please enter system secret to continue."
moreover, the toasts on canceling the action are removed,
they do not make much sense here,
there was a user action just before, so that is pretty clear anyway.
* Remove screen lock feature, move the two remaining "App access" options into "Advanced"
Locking the app was removed a long time ago, so in "App access" in the
settings, the only two remaining items were "Screen security" and
"Incognito keyboard".
* Remove the now-unused strings
* remove app-access-category from main settings screen
Co-authored-by: B. Petersen <r10s@b44t.com>